Richard Wilson's blog

richardcameronwilson AT yahoo dot co dot UK

Obscure placenames part II: Cold Christmas, Hertfordshire

with 8 comments

I’ve never actually been to Cold Christmas, but there was a turning on the road to Barley (where my grandparents lived) which we drove past every time, with a sign pointing the way. From the map, it looks as if some of the neighbouring villages were also quite oddly-named…

 

Written by Richard Wilson

June 22, 2008 at 12:50 am

Posted in Things I've done

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I used to visit my mothers grandmother during the 1950,s. She lived in one of a few cottages in cold christmas lane, with a huge garden consisting of an orchard and outside toilet. Apparently I had other relatives living there. My great-grandmothers name was Fanny Harrison and Harrison was the name from her second marriage. If anybody knows of connections I would like to hear from them.

    sandra smith

    November 12, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    • hi i’m new to computers therefore contact me on 01702 528302 as Fanny Harrison of 76 Cold Christmas was my nan – lets talk i can phone you back if you give me your number

      JANET WEBB

      May 11, 2010 at 5:18 pm

  2. I have just published a local history of Cold Christmas, based on the stories told by older residents past and present. Wire bound and costing £10 you may find it interesting. I can be contacted at aroundcoldchristmas@coldchristmas.net Emma

    Emma Blowers

    December 18, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    • Hi Emma,

      I’ve been doing a bit of googling etc about Cold Christmas and the old church on Cold Christmas lane – seems to be lots of spookiness and mystery and people not wanting to mention specifics of goings on – all very intriguing!

      Does your book mention much about the rumours concerning that old church?

      Best wishes

      Georgina

      Georgina

      February 16, 2010 at 10:27 pm

      • More stories and updated content in second edition – now £13.99 & P&P – and yes the Old Church of All Hallows is included. Contact me for copies (or with additional material for future updates!) as above, Seasonal Regards – Emma

        Emma

        December 5, 2011 at 10:19 am

  3. trying to get email address phone no 01702 528302 fanny harrison was my grandmother she liver at 76 cold christmas my mum her daughter nellie jane born 1906 who is your mother and father i probably know them please phone me till i get set up with email speakto you soon hopefully

    janet webb

    February 12, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    • my mum was margaret adams and dad edward smith, i,m not so good on computers either but will try the number you have stated. my number is 07577951602 please see this and contact me

      sandra smith

      June 25, 2011 at 10:37 pm

  4. Where does the name come from: Cold Christmas?

    barrie loveday

    March 31, 2012 at 7:23 am


Leave a Reply

